SCS Global Services - Setting the standard for sustainability.Ôäó
MENU

Search form

Search form

Executive Management

Stanley P. Rhodes, Ph.D.
President and CEO

Stan Rhodes is the company founder and President. A Ph.D. chemist, he has provided the strategic vision and scientific insight driving SCS Global Services to become one of the world's leading providers of third party certification and assessment services in the environmental and sustainability fields.

Before launching SCS, Dr. Rhodes worked as an analytical and advanced research chemist, first for Eastman Kodak Co., and later at Delta Labs in Rochester, New York. Following his passion for safe, healthy foods, he started and ran several businesses focused on food production, distribution and retailing, and began conducting laboratory analysis to verify claims on food products. This was the genesis of his ultimate decision to form SCS.

Since founding the company, Dr. Rhodes has spearheaded the development of each of SCS's major certification and assessment programs, and has been a hands-on manager of strategic company projects and initiatives. Starting with pesticide residue analysis and certification of residue free foods, he introduced HACCP food safety principles and practices to his clients, launched nutrition and flavor analysis and management initiatives, and began putting together the components of what would become a full-blown sustainable agriculture business. He then turned his attention to the burgeoning area of environmental claims, launching three major initiatives over the next several years: Environmental Claims Evaluation and Certification, the Forest and Marine Conservation Programs, and Life Cycle Assessment services, including Environmentally Preferable Product and Power certifications.

Dr. Rhodes has been a central figure in the international effort to advance the science of life-cycle assessment and put an end to greenwashing. He was a U.S. expert delegate to the ISO 14000 standards setting process, serving on the Subcommittees on Life-Cycle Assessment, Environmental Labeling. He introduced the concept of Type III environmental labeling to the ISO community, based on SCS's LCA-based environmental declaration labeling system. He is also a lead technical editor of the new national LCA standard being developed through the American National Standards Institute process, LEO-SCS-002, aimed at improving the accuracy and environmental relevance of LCA studies and LCA-based public declarations, claims and comparisons.

Dr. Rhodes is a featured speaker at scientific and business workshops, seminars and conventions, and provides executive training sessions on LCA and other topics. He is also the author of numerous patents and articles.

Ph.D., Organic Chemistry; Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN

B.S., Chemistry; University of California, Berkeley, CA

Robert J. Hrubes, Ph.D.
Executive Vice President, Emeritus

Robert Hrubes has served as Executive Vice President for over a decade. In addition to his executive leadership responsibilities, Dr. Hrubes has principal responsibility for leading the company's natural resource management and chain-of-custody programs.

Dr. Hrubes is a registered professional forester and resource economist with over 35 years of professional experience in both the private and public sectors, and is an internationally recognized expert in natural resources management and environmental certification. Prior to joining SCS, he worked for the USDA Forest Service, then became managing principal of Natural Resource Associates, a Northern California-based forestry and resource economics consulting firm. Here he specialized in wildland management planning, sustainable forestry analysis, resource economics analysis, operations research analysis and forest management.

SCS first engaged Dr. Hrubes' consulting services in 1991 to guide the design and implement its ground-breaking forest certification program. In addition to being principal architect of the SCS Forest Conservation Program, he participated as a founding member in the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC), helping to design that certification program. He served for four years on the FSC Board of Directors and was the founding chair of the Board of Directors of the Forest Stewards Guild, a U.S.-based professional forestry society. Maintaining his role as a hands-on certification practitioner, he has served as team leader on evaluations of forest management operations worldwide, and has served as auditor on numerous chain-of-custody certification evaluations. He also served on the Working Group of the Climate Action Reserve Forest Project Protocol.

Dr. Hrubes travels widely, speaking about such topics as forestry, carbon offsets and environmental labelling, and has written numerous peer reviewed articles and papers.

  • Ph.D., Wildland Resource Sciences; University of California, Berkeley, CA
  • M.A., Economics; University of California, Berkeley, CA
  • M.S., Resource Systems Management; University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
  • B.S., Forest Management and Outdoor Recreation Management; Iowa State University, Ames, IA
Linda G. Brown
Senior Vice President

Linda Brown is the company co-founder and Senior Vice President. Ms. Brown has actively participated in the development and implementation of the company's strategic initiatives and certification programs, serving in multitude capacities from program manager to communications chief.

Before joining SCS, Ms. Brown worked as a grants writer for municipalities across the United States, and a publications editor. Active in social justice and environmental issues, she obtained her Master's degree in Journalism. Shortly afterward, she met and joined Dr. Rhodes in launching the business.

Brown has held many positions in the company, including Director of SCS' Environmental Claims Certification Program, Director of Sustainable Agriculture, and Director of Communications. She has spearheaded or participated in numerous food quality, environmental and sustainability standards development activities on a company, national and international basis. She participated in the international ISO 14000 standards setting process, focused on Environmental Labeling, Life-Cycle Assessment and Environmental Aspects in Product Standards. She currently is involved with national efforts to write sustainable agriculture standards (LEO-4000) and update life cycle assessment metrics (LEO-SCS-002).

Ms. Brown has authored numerous articles on environmental certification, life-cycle assessment and food safety issues, and has presented details of SCS programs and methods to diverse audiences around the globe.

  • M.A., Journalism; Stanford University, Stanford, CA
  • B.A., English and Political Science; Emory University, Atlanta, GA
Scott Romito
Chief Financial Officer

A C.P.A. and attorney, Romito has led the finance and accounting function at SCS since 2010. Prior to joining SCS, Scott was CFO and General Counsel for a Southern California-based startup. He spent five years with "Big Four" public accounting firms as an auditor and tax consultant, and sits on the Board of Directors of SCS as well as the Board of Advisors of a technology and certification company he helped develop.

  • J.D., UC Davis School of Law, Davis, CA
  • B.A., Economics; UCLA, Los Angeles, CA

Company Directors and Managers

Name Title Telephone Email
Beam, Stowe Senior Director, Corporate Development 704.604.2668 SBeam@SCSglobalServices.com
Caputo, Jessica Client Services Manager, Food Safety 510.452.8021 JCaputo@SCSglobalServices.com
Connelly, Tom Art Director 510.452.8056 TConnelly@SCSglobalServices.com
Crochett, Kara Director, Human Resources 510.452.8051 KCrochett@SCSglobalServices.com
Daume, Sabine, Ph.D. Regional Director, Sustainable Seafood, Australia 61 (0) 497943304 SDaume@SCSglobalServices.com
Edge, Josh Technical Manager, Food Safety 510.452.9083 Jedge@SCSglobalServices.com
Eldridge, Julian Operations Manager, Forest and Chain of Custody Certification 510.452.6380 JEldridge@SCSglobalServices.com
Ellis, Vanessa Technical Manager, Chain of Custody 510.452.6381 VEllis@SCSglobalServices.com
Goldstein, Bernadette Sales and Marketing Manager, Food and Agriculture 510.452.6825 BGoldstein@SCSglobalServices.com
Grady, Brendan Director, Forest Management Certification 510.452.8034 BGrady@SCSglobalServices.com
Halaby, Ned Sales and Marketing Manager, Organic and Non-GMO 510.452.6822 nhalaby@SCSglobalServices.com
Harris, Eric Program Manager, Responsible Sourcing 510.452.6818 EHarris@SCSglobalServices.com
Harris, Sarah Director, Chain of Custody 510.452.8012 SHarris@SCSglobalServices.com
Holman, Bonnie Program Manager, Sustainability 510.452.8048 BHolman@SCSglobalServices.com
Killpack, Keith Manager, Life Cycle Assessment 510.452.8047 KKillpack@SCSglobalServices.com
Kirsanova Phillips, Diana Director, Quality Assurance 510.452.9089 DKirsanovaPhillips@SCSglobalServices.com
Kolk, Margaret Director of Agriculture, Food Safety and Training Programs 510.452.9082 MKolk@SCSglobalServices.com
Kooy, Steven Director of Sales and Marketing, ECS 616.443.5053 SKooy@SCSglobalServices.com
Maizlish, Aaron Director, Business Services, NR 510.452.8005 AMaizlish@SCSglobalServices.com
Mathuram, Stanley Vice President of ECS Operations and Corporate Sales 616.299.1073 SMathuram@scsglobalservices.com
Mendenhall, Neil Manager, Supply Chain Services 510.452.8018 NMendenhall@SCSglobalServices.com
de Monasterio, Jaime Regional Director, SCS Argentina SA +54 911.5035.6094 deMonasterio@SCSglobalServices.com
Morgan, Siân Director, Sustainable Seafood 510.452.6392 SMorgan@SCSglobalServices.com
Munoz, Nicole Quality Manager, ECS 510.452.8031 NMunoz@SCSglobalServices.com
Nauman, Brandon Manager, Organic and Non-GMO Programs 510.452.8052 BNauman@scsglobalservices.com
Patel, Heena Technical Director, Supply Chain Food Safety Audit Services 510.452.8024 HPatel@SCSglobalServices.com
Pollet-Young, Christie Director, Greenhouse Gas Verification 510.452.9093 CPollet-Young@SCSglobalServices.com
Schultz, Tobias Manager, Profiling Services 510.452.6389 TSchultz@scsglobalservices.com
Silla, Josephine Manager, Marketing 914.433.1143 jsilla@scsglobalservices.com
Smith, Nathan Managing Director, Food and Agriculture Division 510.452.8033 NSmith@SCSglobalServices.com
Swecker, Jason Program Manager, MSC Chain of Custody 510.452.8043 JSwecker@SCSglobalServices.com
Sykes, Lesley Manager, Sustainable Agriculture 510.452.6823 Lsykes@SCSglobalServices.com
Troxel, Blake Manager, Greenhouse Gas Verification 510.452.9091 BTroxel@SCSglobalServices.com
Watters, Jennifer Client Services Manager, Sustainability 510.452.8054 JWatters@SCSglobalServices.com
Wong, Dexter Operations Manager, Food Safety 510.452.8032 Dwong@SCSglobalServices.com
Wood, Libby Client Services Manager, ECS 510.452.8032 LWood@SCSglobalServices.com
Beam, Stowe
Senior Director, Corporate Development
704.604.2668
Caputo, Jessica
Client Services Manager, Food Safety
510.452.8021
Connelly, Tom
Art Director
510.452.8056
Crochett, Kara
Director, Human Resources
510.452.8051
Daume, Sabine, Ph.D.
Regional Director, Sustainable Seafood, Australia
61 (0) 497943304
de Monasterio, Jaime
Regional Director, SCS Argentina SA
+54 911.5035.6094
Edge, Josh
Technical Manager, Food Safety
510.452.9083
Eldridge, Julian
Operations Manager, FM and Chain of Custody
510.452.6380
Ellis, Vanessa
Technical Manager, Chain of Custody
510.452.6381
Goldstein, Bernadette
Sales and Marketing Manager, Food and Agriculture
510.452.6825
Grady, Brendan
Director, Forest Management Certification
510.452.8034
Halaby, Ned
Sales and Marketing Manager, Organic and Non-GMO
510.452.6822
Harris, Eric
Program Manager, Responsible Sourcing
510.452.6818
Harris, Sarah
Director, Chain of Custody
510.452.8012
Holman, Bonnie
Program Manager, Sustainability
510.452.8048
Killpack, Keith
Manager, Life Cycle Assessment
510.452.8047
Kirsanova Phillips, Diana
Director, Quality Assurance
510.452.9089
Kolk, Margaret
Director of Agriculture, Food Safety and Training Programs
510.452.9082
Kooy, Steven
Director of Sales and Marketing, ECS
616.443.5053
Maizlish, Aaron
Director, Business Services, NR
510.452.8005
Mathuram, Stanley
SVP of ECS Operations and Corporate Sales
616.299.1073
Mendenhall, Neil
Manager, Supply Chain Services
510.452.8018
Morgan, Siân
Regional Director, Sustainable Seafood, Americas
510.452.6392
Munoz, Nicole
Quality Manager, ECS
510.452.8031
Nauman, Brandon
Manager, Organic and Non-GMO Programs
510.452.8052
Patel, Heena
Technical Director, Supply Chain Food Safety Audit Services
510.452.8024
Pollet-Young, Christie
Director, Greenhouse Gas Verification
510.452.9093
Schultz, Tobias
Manager, Profiling Services
510.452.6389
Silla, Josephine
Manager, Marketing
914.433.1143
Smith, Nathan
Managing Director, Food and Agriculture Division
510.452.8033
Swecker, Jason
Program Manager, MSC Chain of Custody
510.452.8043
Sykes, Lesley
Manager, Sustainable Agriculture
510.452.6823
Troxel, Blake
Manager, Greenhouse Gas Verification
510.452.9091
Watters, Jennifer
Client Services Manager, Sustainability
510.452.8054
Wood, Libby
Client Services Manager, ECS
510.452.8032
Wong, Dexter
Operations Manager, Food Safety
510.452.8023