零废物设施认证

认证您的设施的废物转移成就,以帮助加强您的企业信息、投资形象和ESG评级

Inna Kitaychik  

希望降低他们的环境影响和碳足迹的公司正在转向可持续发展的倡议,如零废物,以大大改善他们的环境管理,企业责任形象和ESG排名。 为了帮助你沟通你如何减少、回收和再利用你的废物,圣克莱尔零废物标准为你的个人设施的废物转移和减少提供了一个认证基础。

认证可以用来传达你的公司在消除设施中产生的垃圾填埋的历程。每年的零废物评估可以捕捉到从垃圾填埋场转移出来的废物量占产生的总废物的百分比。 根据SCS零废物标准,所有参与的设施将被评估,并将进行现场抽样审计。根据这个SCS标准,证明至少有50%的废物分流的设施可以得到认可。所有的要求都是基于十二个月的时间。

为什么选择圣克莱尔?

圣克莱尔对每个参与的设施实现的分流进行认证,从50%的分流开始。圣克莱尔零废物标准采取逐个设施的方法,对范围内的设施进行抽样现场审计,这减少了认证的成本,同时通过文件审查保持设施级认证的完整性。该标准还允许将危险废物的分流计入总分流,并允许在个案基础上使用废物变能源作为总分流的25%以上的分流方法。

准备好获得认证了吗?

在此申请

  • 常见问题
  • 效益
  • 过程
  • 废物处理证书
  • 计划文件

问:零废物的目的是什么?

答:零废物是一种企业/商业/生活理念,旨在通过重复使用现有材料、适当管理被指定为废物的材料,以及首先防止材料进入废物流,来减少企业、政府和个人产生的废物数量。

问:零废物认证对我的公司有什么好处?

答:"圣克莱尔零废物 "认证提供第三方保证在12个月的时间里在一个设施中实现废物转移。这种认证的分流率可以用来沟通公司在其设施中消除垃圾填埋的过程。年度评估捕捉到从垃圾填埋场转移的废物量占产生的总废物的百分比。

问:圣克莱尔零废物认证计划与其他的有什么不同,如GBCI TRUE认证或NSF免填埋认证?

答:有几个关键因素使SCS零废物认证计划区别于其他废物认证和验证计划。

  • 节省成本。我们以抽样的方式进行现场审核,这降低了拥有多个设施的客户的认证成本。
  • 核实分流百分比。虽然我们保持零废物的定义是99%的分流,但设施只需要显示50%的分流就可以参与SCS认证。其他标准不允许在没有达到至少90%的转移率的情况下 "参与"。
  • 危险废物。我们的标准接受危险废物的分流,在个案的基础上计入分流(以下分析)。
  • 废物变能源。我们的标准允许使用废物变能源作为分流方法,最多占总分流的25%,无需进一步审查。它允许在审查后逐案处理超过总分流量的25%。
  • 残余率津贴。我们的标准允许在计算分流率时采用默认的行业/区域残余率,如果没有来自运输商/第三方废物收集服务的数据。其他标准要求提供宣誓书。

问:哪些类型的设施可以得到认证?

答:只要废物管理活动都在申请认证的公司的管辖范围内,任何设施都有资格进行认证。然而,与其他公司共享废物管理的设施必须在混合之前跟踪其废物,以便能够参与该标准。

问:我的设施必须是99%没有废物,才能被SCS认证为零废物吗?

事实上,公司需要证明参与的设施在12个月内达到了至少50%的废物分流率,才能被考虑认证。每个设施的实际转移量将在每年的证书上注明。这使企业能够逐年讲述他们的零废物之旅。

问:我的所有设施是否都必须每年进行一次当面审计才能获得零废物认证?

答:不。SCS零废物标准允许多地点认证,每年对个别地点进行抽查,同时对所有包括在认证范围内的地点进行数据和管理文件审查。

问:零废物证书包括什么?

答:SCS零废物证书包括公司的零废物成就的透明概述,包括以下所需的信息。

  • 该公司在该年度实现的废物转移百分比。百分比用以下公式计算。(转移的废物-残余物)+防止的废物)/(废物总量+防止的废物)
  • 使用的每种分流方法(例如,回收、堆肥、废物变能源)以及使用每种方法的分流百分比
  • 公司在垃圾分类方面取得的进展,以分数表示;例如,如果一家公司去年实现了55%的垃圾分类,在审计年度实现了60%的垃圾分类;证书将显示 "+5
  • 经营者目前是否储存任何废物(不是储存材料的百分比或总重量)
  • 认证期限(被核查的12个月期间)

问:我们有多个设施。是否可以一次只认证几个,或者我们必须认证所有的设施以符合SCS零废物认证的资格?

答:我们可以认证任何数量的设施;只有接受评估的设施将被视为SCS零废物认证的范围。每个设施的认证都是根据该设施达到的分流率。

问:什么是分流金额,如何计算?

答:一个公司的分流量是指使用以下方法以对环境有益的方式处理的材料(定义为废物)的数量:回收、堆肥、再利用、再生、预防、废物变能源(而不是送去填埋)。分流百分比是用以下公式计算的。(分流的废物-残余物+预防的废物)/(废物总量+预防的废物)。

问:什么是 "通过重新设计防止的废物"?

答:由于新的生产或采购过程而不再产生的废物。例如,一家公司从一次性使用的模具转向可重复使用的模具,或从供应商的纸板包装转向可重复使用的容器。圣克莱尔承认从重新设计到一个公司在12个月内的总分流百分比的减少。

问:我不了解作为零废物标准和零废物审计的一部分的所有废物类型和测量。你是否有一份零废物定义的清单?

答:是的,以下是作为零废物审计和认证的一部分,正在评估的最常见的废物类型和测量的清单。

  • 灰烬:包括 "飞灰 "和 "焚烧炉底灰",前者是焚烧后收集的空气中的灰烬,后者是焚烧炉底部的重灰。
  • 平均残差百分比。正 式研究中计算的行业平均残余物。例如,在加利福尼亚州,加州环境保护局(CEPA)进行了一项研究,显示2005年的残余物百分比为:。单流材料回收设施(MRF):14%,多流:6%,混合废物:81%,建筑和拆除(C&D)23%。如果回收设施不能提供具体百分比的宣誓书,这些可适用于经营者的外发材料。
  • 堆肥材料。自然界中的有机材料,被送往堆肥设施,让它们腐烂形成相对均匀和稳定的腐殖质状物质[ISO 14021]。
  • 建筑和拆除废料。建筑物和其他结构的施工和拆除(C&D)产生的材料,包括金属、木材、石膏、沥青瓦、屋顶、混凝土、岩石、瓦砾、土壤、纸张、塑料和玻璃等材料,但不包括可腐烂的废物(SWANA技术政策,附件B)。
  • 转移的废物。内部处理的废物和/或非填埋的废物被送往外部处理。
  • 电子废物。接近或达到其使用寿命的消费和商业电子设备(如电脑、电视和手机)。
  • 危险废物。环保局列出的废物;或具有可燃性、反应性、腐蚀性或提取程序毒性特征的废物(美国农业部农业资源局)。
  • 重新设计产生的预防废物。在以前的工艺下会出现的废物,但由于产品或包装的重新设计而被消除了。重新设计产生的预防废物可以通过将前一年(现在)预防的废物总重量除以前一年产生的产品总单位数来计算。然后用这个结果乘以本年度产生的单位数。过程将被逐一审查,以确保重新设计所防止的废物的索赔是准确的。
  • 再生材料。原本会被作为废物处理或用于能源回收的材料,但却被收集和回收[再生],作为 "新 "材料输入,代替新的初级材料,用于回收或制造过程[ISO 14021]。
  • 回收的材料。送到回收设施的材料被切碎、造粒或进行化学改变,以重新制作成商业用途的物品或物质。常见材料包括玻璃、金属、纸板和塑料,但也可能适用于其他材料。
  • 重新使用的材料。原本会被作为废物处理或用于能源回收的材料,但在过程结束时被收集起来,再次用于其最初的目的。
  • 残留物。处理后剩下的废料。残余物的百分比取决于回收设施的类型以及州或市(取决于可用数据)。经营者负责从用于处理的设施中获得这些百分比的宣誓书。如果不能提供设施的宣誓书,可使用平均残留百分比。见上述平均残留百分比。
  • 出售的废料。在 项目范围内被定义为废物的材料,被卖给另一个制造商作为生产货物的投入。捐赠的材料也将计入这一类别。
  • 废物变能源(WTE)。 从本应作为废物处理的材料中回收的能源,但却通过管理过程收集起来[ISO 14021]。这种方法包括焚烧、热解和厌氧消化,过程的主要目的和产出是创造能源。

问:圣克莱尔还提供什么其他环境认证?

答:零废物认证只是一个公司可以实现的许多认证之一,作为其持续的可持续发展旅程的一部分。圣克莱尔为各种各样的产品和过程提供了100多个认证和验证程序,以帮助公司朝着更可持续和环保的方向发展。这些措施最终帮助公司从许多企业评级公司获得更好的ESG评级,这反过来又使公司从ESG投资和机构投资者的角度处于有利地位。有关所有SCS认证和验证的完整列表,请访问:http://www.scsglobalservices.com/services

 

索取资料

需要更多信息吗?请填写表格,我们的代表将很快给您答复。

相关资源

点击了解更多信息或下载与此服务相关的资源

新闻发布
SCS Global Services (SCS)是一家在第三方环境和可持续发展认证、审计以及其他方面的全球领导者。
新闻发布
自2019年底推出LNP™ ELCRIN™ iQ材料以来,SABIC已经帮助转移了超过1亿个单...
新闻发布
SCS Global Services (全球领先的第三方环境和可持续发展认证服务机构--圣科莱尔公司(SCS)今天宣布...
博客
很难相信,但 "零废物 "这个词已经存在了40多年。它是由一位化学家首次使用...

To Learn More About How SCS Global Services is Addressing COVID-19 Click Here

Zero Waste Certification

Certify your company’s waste reduction initiatives and communicate how you divert your facility’s waste from landfills to help strengthen your corporate message, investment profile, and ESG ratings.

Vikas Ahuja   |  
Mobile Contact510.452.9090   |  

Companies around the world looking to lower their environmental impact and carbon footprint are turning to sustainability initiatives such as Zero Waste to significantly improve their environmental stewardship, corporate responsibility profile, and ESG rankings.

To help you communicate how you reduce, recycle and re-use your waste, the SCS Zero Waste Standard provides a basis for certification for waste diversion and reduction at your individual facilities. Certification provides a 3rd party assurance that waste elements are reused, prevented or diverted from the landfill. Certification can be used to communicate your company’s journey towards eliminating landfill-bound waste generation at your facilities. The annual zero waste assessment captures the amount of waste diverted from landfill as a percentage of total waste generated.

Under the SCS Zero Waste standard, all corporate facilities will be evaluated, and a sample will be audited onsite. Facilities demonstrating at least 50% waste diversion can be recognized under this SCS standard. All claims are based on a twelve-month period.

 

Zero Waste logo

Unlike other waste certification programs, the SCS Zero Waste certification standard is the only standard to certify at the facility level. Facilities can also be recognized under this standard by verifying a diversion of 50% waste or more, even without achieving 99% diversion to be fully certified “Zero Waste”. The SCS Zero Waste standard takes a facility-by-facility approach that allows for on-site sampling, which reduces the cost of certification while maintaining the integrity of the facility-level certification through document review. This standard also allows for a diversion of hazardous waste to count towards overall diversion, as well as allowing for waste to energy achievement if a facility diverts more than 25% of their waste using waste to energy.

  • FAQs
  • Benefits
  • Process
  • Program Documents

Q: What is the purpose of Zero Waste?
A: As a company begins its corporate sustainability journey, one of the biggest areas of concern should be how the company handles waste. In the U.S. alone, nearly 300 million tons of municipal solid waste are produced each year, much of it going into already strained landfilles, the ocean and the atmosphere with a heavy impact on the environment and human, animal and plant health.

Q: How does Zero Waste certification benefit my company?
A: SCS Zero Waste certification provides a 3rd party assurance of the waste diversion achieved by a company over a 12-month period and can be used to communicate the company’s journey towards eliminating landfill-bound waste generation at its facilities. The annual assessment captures the amount of waste diverted from landfill as a percentage of total waste generated.

Q: How is the SCS Zero Waste certification program different from others, such as GBCI TRUE certification or NSF Landfill Free certification?
A: There are several key factors that distinguish the SCS Zero Waste certification program from other waste certification and verification programs:

  1. Cost savings: We perform on-site audits on a sampling basis which lowers the cost of certification for clients with multiple locations
  2. Verification of diversion percentages: While we keep the definition of Zero Waste as 99% diversion, facilities only have to show 50% diversion to participate in the SCS certification. Other standards do not allow for “participation” without achieving at least 90% diversion, therefore our standard opens up the certification based on their current waste achievement, which allows more companies/facilities to participate and tailor their ESG messaging
  3. Hazardous Waste: Our standard accepts an allowance of diversion of hazardous waste to count towards diversion on a case by case basis (following analysis)
  4. Waste to Energy: Our standard allows for waste to energy achievement on a case by case basis, if facility diverts more than 25% of their waste using waste to energy.
  5. Risidual Rate Allowance: Our standard allows for the default industry/regional residual rates to be applied when calculating diversion rates if data from haulers/third party waste collection service is not available. Other standards require hauler affidavits.

Q: What types of facilities can be certified?
A: Any facility qualifies as long as the waste management activities are all under the purview of the company applying for certification.

Q: Do my facilities have to be 99% waste free in order to be certified Zero Waste by SCS?
A: No. In fact, companies need to show that participating facilities have achieved a minimum of 50% waste diversion over a 12-month period to be considered for certification. Actual diversion per facility will be stated on the certificate each year. This enables corporations to tell the story of their zero-waste journey, year over year.

Q: Do all of my facilities have to have an in-person audit every year to be certified Zero Waste?
A: No. The SCS Zero Waste Standard allows for multi-site certification where individual sites are visited on a sample basis each year while data and management documents are reviewed for all sites to be included in the certification.

Q: What does a Zero Waste certification include?
A: The SCS Zero Waste certificate includes a transparent overview of the company’s zero waste achievements, including the following required information:

  • The percent of waste diversion the company has achieved for that year (All claims certifications are based on a twelve-month period). Percentage is calculated by (diverted waste - residuals) + prevented waste) / (total waste + prevented waste)
  • Each method of diversion used (e.g., recycling, composting, waste-to-energy) as well as the percentage diverted using each method
  • The progress the company has made in waste diversion expressed as points; for example, if a company achieved 55% diversion last year and 60% diversion in the audited year; the certificate would show ‘+5’.
  • Whether the company currently stores any waste

Q: We have multiple facilities. Is it possible to only certify a few at a time, or do we have to certify all facilities to qualify for SCS Zero Waste certification?
A: Yes, every facility is certified to the diversion rate achieved at that facility.

Q: What are diversion amounts and how are they calculated?
A: A company’s diversion amount is a calculation of the amount of materials defined as wastes disposed of in an environmentally beneficial manner using the following methods: recycling, composting, re-use, reclaiming, prevention, waste-to-energy (instead of sending it to the landfill). Percentage is calculated by (diverted waste – residuals + prevented waste) / (total waste + prevented waste).

Q: What is “waste prevented by re-design”?
A: Waste that is no longer generated due to a new production or procurement process. For example, a company switches from single use molds to reusable molds, or from carboard packaging from suppliers to reusable containers. SCS recognizes reductions from redesign towards a company’s total diversion percentage for a 12-month period.

Q: I don’t understand all of types of waste and measurements that are part of the Zero Waste standard and a zero waste audit. Do you have a list of Zero Waste definitions?
A: Yes, below is a list of the most common types of waste and measurements that are being assessed as part of a Zero Waste audit and certification:

Ash: Includes ‘fly ash’ which is the airborne ash collected after incineration and ‘incinerator bottom ash’ which is the heavy ash found in the bottom of an incinerator post burning.

Average Residual Percentages: Industry averages of residuals calculated in formal studies. For example, in the state of California, the California Environmental Protection Agency (CEPA) conducted a study which showed that the residuals percentages for the year 2005 are: Single-Stream Materials Recovery Facility (MRF): 14%, Multi-Stream: 6%, Mixed Waste: 81%, Construction and Demolition (C&D) 23%. (see Table 4, page 3: here) These can be applied to an Operator’s outgoing materials if an affidavit with a specific percentage cannot be provided by the recycling facility.

Composted Material: Materials organic in nature which are sent to a compost facility where they are allowed to decay to form relatively homogeneous and stable humus-like substance [ISO 14021].

Construction and Demolition Debris: Materials resulting from the construction and demolition (C&D) of buildings and other structures, including materials such as metals, wood, gypsum, asphalt shingles, roofing, concrete, rocks, rubble, soil, paper, plastics and glass, but excluding putrescible wastes (SWANA Technical Policies, Attachment B). 

Diverted Waste: Internally processed waste and/or non-landfill-bound waste sent for external processing. 

Hazardous Waste: a waste listed by EPA; or a waste that is characterized by being ignitable, reactive, corrosive, or extraction procedure toxic (USDA Agricultural Resource Service).

Mixed Waste Processing Facility: A facility where recyclable materials are separated from waste that is landfill-bound.

Multi-Stream Materials Recovery Facility (MRF): a facility at which source separated recyclables (recyclables that are separated into categories by the initial user before being picked up) are processed for sale to various markets.

Operator: Entity that owns or manages a facility.

Prevented Waste from Redesign: Waste that would have occurred under a former process, but has since been eliminated due to redesign of the product or packaging. Prevented waste from redesign can be calculated by dividing the previous year’s total weight of the (now) prevented waste by the total number of units of product created in the previous year. Then multiplying this result by the number of units generated in the current year. Process will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis to ensure claims of prevented waste from redesign are accurate.

Re-claimed Material: Material that would have otherwise been disposed of as waste or used for energy recovery, but has instead been collected and recovered [reclaimed] as a “NEW” material input, in lieu of new primary material, for a recycling or a manufacturing process [ISO 14021].

Reasonable Distance: defined by the Operator’s location relative to the nearest recycling/composting/reuse facility and nearest Waste-to-Energy Plant: in situations where the nearest MRF is more than twice the distance to the nearest Waste-to-Energy Plant, disposal via Waste-to-Energy can be an acceptable approach under this standard.

Recycled material: Material sent to a recycling facility to be shredded, pelletized, or chemically altered to be remade into objects or substances for commercial use. Common materials include glass, metal, cardboard, and plastics, but may apply to other materials, as well.

Re-used Material: Material that would have otherwise been disposed of as waste or used for energy recovery, but has instead been collected at the end of the process to be used again for its initial purpose.

Residuals: Waste material that remains after processing has taken place. Residuals percentages are specific to the type of recycling facility as well as to the state or city (depending on available data). Operator is responsible for obtaining these percentages in an affidavit from the facilities used for processing. Average Residual Percentages may be used if affidavits from facilities cannot be provided. See Average Residual Percentages above.

Single-Stream Materials Recovery Facility (MRF): A recycling facility into which commingled recycling materials (recyclables that are mixed together by the initial user) are accepted and processed.

Waste Diversion: the practice of disposing of materials defined as wastes in an environmentally beneficial manner using the following methods: recycling, composting, re-use, reclaiming, prevention, waste-to-energy (instead of sending it to the landfill). Percentage is calculated by (diverted waste – residuals + prevented waste) / (total waste + prevented waste). Waste Diversion Achieved: 50 – 100% of all waste material is diverted in one twelve-month period.

Waste-to-Energy (WTE): Energy recovered from material that would have been disposed of as waste but instead has been collected through managed processes [ISO 14021]. This method includes incineration, pyrolysis, and anaerobic digestion where the main purpose and output of the process is to create energy. Zero Waste: 99%+ of all waste material is diverted in one twelve-month period for a defined facility.

Q: What other environmental certifications does SCS offer?
A: Zero Waste certification is just one of many certifications a company can achieve as part of its ongoing sustainability journey. SCS offers more than 100 certification and validation programs for a wide variety of products and processes to help companies as they grow towards being more sustainable and environmentally friendly. Such measures ultimately help companies achieve better ESG ratings from the many corporate ratings companies, which in turn positions the company well from an ESG investment and institutional investor perspective. For a complete listing of all SCS certifications and validations, visit: http://www.scsglobalservices.com/services

Request Information

Need more information? Fill the form and one of our representatives will get back to you shortly.