FSC - Mark of Responsible Forestry

The marks of responsible forestry

The FSC® Certification Guarantee

The Forest Stewardship Council® (FSC) mark means that the wood or paper you are buying comes from responsibly managed forests. To become FSC certified, forest operations must meet demanding environmental, social and economic requirements, as confirmed by an independent third party such as SCS Global Services.

FSC mark covers these areas

Tracked from the source

FSC certification is required at each stage in the product Chain of Custody from the forest to you.

FSC chain of custody

Responsible Forestry by the numbers


of terrestrial animals and plants live in forests


of all land is covered by forests


of the world’s forests are FSC certified in 111 countries


businesses currently hold FSC Chain of Custody certificates


countries have businesses that are FSC certified


growth in FSC Chain of Custody certifications since 2008

Look for the FSC and SCS Kingfisher Marks

FSC certification with SCS

SCS has been certifying responsibly managed forests longer than any other independent organization, and is one of the world's most trusted third-party auditors under the FSC program. FSC license code FSC-A000521

Get Certified